The Spiegel Institut

"Not the objective nature of a product is the reality in the market psychology, but only the consumer perception."
Prof. Dr. Bernt Spiegel

What moves people? How are products experienced from a consumer perspective and how are (purchasing) decisions reached? A passion for these questions is what made Dr. Bernt Spiegel into a pioneer in market psychology in Germany and led him to found the Spiegel Institut in Mannheim in 1950.

The siblings Uta and Götz Spiegel are the second generation to run the Spiegel Institut. The Institute conducts consumer research and provides user experience consulting with several locations in Germany, China and the United States. It stands for human-centered consultancy along the product development process: We help develop successful products and services by analyzing the usage context, supporting conceptual design and user-centered development, up to validating the concepts.

We have continuously forged new paths, developed innovative research methods and contributed important findings to the field of market psychology and user experience. Not only in theory: Renowned companies from industry and business use our support to constantly stay a step ahead of consumer demands when designing their products. Our longstanding interest in the question of how people experience products, applications and services, collectively called “User Experience”, is now more relevant than ever before and is an important focus in research and consulting. Read more


Uploaded image

Götz Spiegel

“Optimising how humans interact with their environment fascinates me, as there is enormous potential to improve how the material and the intangible can fit together.”
Uploaded image

Dr. Matthias Reisemann

“The human-oriented perspective on product development and its process, as we can see with UX, inspires me every day.”
Uploaded image

Dirk Obermeier

„I am passionate about anything that has to do with data science and data art, that is, giving meaning to numbers and visualising them.“
Uploaded image

Anna Lewandowski

“Market research with all its diversity is always exciting, and it shows how colourful life (as a market researcher) can be.”
Uploaded image

Philip Rigley

“You have to really get to know the users in order to make suitable products that inspire them.”
Uploaded image

Nikolai Pärsch

„The value-added that the UX research can give to society really excites me: consumers are happy to have practical products, and companies can enjoy improved sales.“
Uploaded image

Felix Leist

„I am fascinated by the idea of capturing the user experience with the right tools and incorporating them into the development process in an intelligible way in order to continually improve products.“
Uploaded image

Sarah Gelb

“The most exciting thing about market research for me is delving into the world of a target group, understanding them and explaining them to the client.”


Contact us!

Contact person

Manuela Elkemann
Head of Marketing
Tel.: +49 621-72844-182

Das Spiegel Institut

„Nicht die objektive Beschaffenheit eines Produkts ist die Realität in der Marktpsychologie, sondern einzig die Verbrauchervorstellung.“
Prof. Dr. Bernt Spiegel

Was bewegt Menschen? Wie werden Produkte aus Konsumentenperspektive erlebt und (Kauf-) Entscheidungen gefällt? Das leidenschaftliche Interesse für diese Fragen machte Prof. Dr. Bernt Spiegel zum Vorreiter der Marktpsychologie in Deutschland und führte 1950 zur Gründung des Spiegel Institut in Mannheim.

Heute wird das Spiegel Institut in der zweiten Generation von den Geschwistern Uta und Götz Spiegel geleitet. Das Institut ist in den Bereichen Consumer Research und User Experience Consulting mit mehreren Standorten in Deutschland, China und den USA aktiv. Es steht für menschzentrierte Beratung entlang des Produkt-Entwicklungsprozesses: von der Nutzungskontextanalyse über die Konzeption und nutzerzentrierte Entwicklung bis zur Absicherung unterstützen wir die Entstehung erfolgreicher Produkte und Services.

Wir haben immer wieder neue Wege beschritten, innovative Untersuchungsmethoden entwickelt und bedeutende Erkenntnisse im Bereich der Marktpsychologie und der User Experience gewonnen. Nicht nur in der Theorie: Namhafte Unternehmen aus Industrie und Wirtschaft nutzen unsere Unterstützung, um den Anforderungen der Kunden an ihre Produkte stets einen Schritt voraus zu sein. Unser langjähriges Interesse für die Frage, wie Menschen Produkte, Anwendungen und Services erleben, ist heute unter der Bezeichnung „User Experience“ aktueller denn je und stellt einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt unserer Forschung und Beratung dar. Mehr erfahren

Referenten

Uploaded image

Götz Spiegel

„Die Optimierung der Schnittstelle zwischen dem Menschen und seinem Umfeld fasziniert mich, da sich sowohl bei der Verbesserung der Passung zu dem Dinglichen wie auch zu dem Entstofflichten enorme Entwicklungs-sprünge erreichen lassen.“
Uploaded image

Dr. Matthias Reisemann

„Die menschzentrierte Perspektive auf Produktentwicklung und Prozess ganz im Sinne der UX zieht mich jeden Tag aufs Neue in ihren Bann.“
Uploaded image

Dirk Obermeier

„Mein Herz schlägt für alles zwischen Data Science und Data Art, d.h. Zahlen Bedeutung geben und ihre Visualisierung.“
Uploaded image

Anna Lewandowski

„Marktforschung in seiner ganzen Vielfalt ist immer wieder spannend und zeigt, wie bunt das (Marktforscher- )
Leben ist.“
Uploaded image

Philip Rigley

„Man muss den Nutzer genau kennen, um passende Produkte zu gestalten, die ihn begeistern.“
Uploaded image

Felix Leist

„Mich reizt die Idee, die Nutzungserfahrungen mit den richtigen Werkzeugen zu erfassen und verständlich aufbereitet in den Entwicklungsprozess einfließen zu lassen, um Produkte kontinuierlich besser zu machen.“
Uploaded image

Sarah Gelb

„Das spannendste an der Marktforschung ist für mich, in die jeweilige Welt einer Zielgruppe abzutauchen, sie zu verstehen und diese anschließend dem Auftraggeber zu erklären.“

Erfahrungsberichte

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Ansprechpartner


Manuela Elkemann
Head of Marketing
Tel.: +49 621-72844-182